Automatically starting Pidgin at startup

Just like MSN Messenger in Windows, if you want Pidgin to startup automatically in Ubuntu when you start your computer, you can do this by adding Pidgin to the startup programs list.

To do this open Session Preferences (System -> Preferences -> Session) and add Pidgin to the list (see pic below).

pidgin

Now every time you start your computer, Pidgin will start automatically. If you want Pidgin to sign into your IM account, make sure your leave your account(s) enabled when you exit Pidgin. That way when Pidgin starts it will sign into those accounts you have left enabled (see pic below).

enabling accounts

4 Responses to Automatically starting Pidgin at startup

  1. David says:

    Awesome, I’m new to Ubuntu and this is just what I needed!

  2. Balaji says:

    I have tried this above link,
    My pidgin doesnt start automatically.
    I can see the pidgin is on the session..
    any advice.

  3. Lue Borok says:

    Very nice post. I just found your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  4. Name says:

    Your post was useful to me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

